Cameron Larkin .com

Josh Kennedy set to become latest Swan to win the Brownlow Medal

Sydney’s Josh Kennedy will tonight be named as the 2012 Brownlow medallist just days out of lining up in the AFL Grand Final, joining fellow Swans champions Greg Williams, Gerard Healy, Paul Kelly, and dual-winner Adam Goodes. However, reminiscent of the 2000 decider, he will be victorious in a losing side – Shane Woewodin polled 24 votes and on the Saturday afternoon, Melbourne would fall to a rampaging Essendon outfit.

In yet another year of which the games most prominent individual honour has an array of midfielders high in the betting, Kennedy currently sits just off favourite Garry Ablett at 8-1 after being solidly backed-in from double figure odds.

Not since 1999 when Hawthorn’s Shane Crawford was adjudged the best and fairest by the men in white has the AFL community toasted to a player that’s club missed the finals series.

After playing 13-games for Hawthorn, Kennedy accepted a three-year deal with the Swans in a trade that included dynamic small forward Ben McGlynn. Since the move, Kennedy has thrived in the Sydney midfield.

Kennedy finished the regular season averaging 28.4 disposals – fifth in total disposals, first in total contested possessions and first in clearances per game. Kennedy also added 27 goals for the year with an average of 1.1 per game. On six outings, Kennedy record 30 or more possessions including gathering 40 touches, three marks, eight tackles and a goal in an eight-point loss to Collingwood.

Josh Kennedy will win, followed closely by Sam Mitchell and Trent Cotchin.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: